Comparison of Greek and Roman gods


Hi! Todays post is about Greek and Roman gods. When the Romans took over Greece, they adopted the Greek beliefs, but changed the names of some of the gods. Here is a list of the gods and their different names.


–  Zeus = Jupiter

– Hera = Juno

– Athena = Minerva

– Apollo = Apollo

– Artemis = Diana

– Hephaestus = Vulcan

– Ares = Mars

– Demeter = Ceres

– Poseidon = Neptune

– Hades = Pluto

– Persephone = Proserpina

– Hermes = Mercury

Now that I have told you about some of the gods and their different names and historys, I want you to remember that they keep most of their personalities and traits. They also keep many of their arguments and titles.

For example, Zeus, the king of the gods, when he is turned into Jupiter, he is still king of the gods and ruler of the heavens.

You also might have noticed Apollo keeps his name. That is because the Romans decided to keep his name. That is one of the biggest reasons that we can connect Roman and Greek mythology together. There are many other less obvious clues, but we won’t talk about them today.

The next post will probably be about Norse mythology, which I’m super excited about. Can’t wait to see you next post! Bye!

The Olympian Council and other well-known Gods and Goddesses

Hello! Welcome back to Mismatched Mythology! Today I am going to introduce you to some the most respected gods and goddesses. The Olympian Council is some of the most powerful and important gods and goddess. They rule over Mount Olympus, which is where they live.

On the Olympian Council is Zeus, king of the gods and ruler of the heavens. He rules with his sister and wife, Hera, goddess of marriage, birth, women, and family. Zeus, along with his brothers, Poseidon (god of the sea) and Hades (god of the underworld), make up the Big Three.         Demeter (goddess of the harvest), Hera, and Hestia (goddess of the hearth and home) make up the girl Big Three.  Those are the six children of Cronus and Rhea, the king and queen of the Titans.

        They make up part of the Olympian Council. The rest of the Council is made up by Apollo, the god of poetry, healing, archery, and the sun, Artemis, the goddess of the moon and the hunt, Persephone, goddess of spring and queen of the underworld, along with Ares, god of war, Dionysus, god of wine and revelry, Hermes, god of travelers and thieves, Athena, goddess of war and wisdom, and Hephaestus, god of craftsmanship and fire.